Calling back

I started the book in 2002. Actually, I started it several times. 2002 happened to be the first of many starts. Every time I would settle in and begin to think about writing, we’d pack up and move. Literally.

I’ve loved books since I can remember, but mostly I’ve loved STORIES in all forms. The tale that started in my head back in 2002 wouldn’t go away. I couldn’t give up on the people in my head. They had a story to tell.

For twelve years, I’ve worked on my magnum opus, a novel titled Blood Beneath the Pines. February 22nd of 2014, I picked it up again. By God’s grace and a miracle, I wrote “THE END” on Friday, June 20, 2014, at 5:20 p.m., mountain time. I felt like I had climbed Pikes Peak.

At one point, I wrote over 13,000 words in four days. I needed a cold press for my bugged-out eyes.

No matter what your dream is today, don’t give up on it. God placed the desire in your heart for a reason. He will equip you to do the thing He called you to do. “So since we find ourselves fashioned into all these excellently formed and marvelously functioning parts in Christ’s body, let’s just go ahead and be what we were made to be, without enviously or pridefully comparing ourselves with each other, or trying to be something we aren’t. (Romans 12: 4-6 MSG).

Anne Lamott said in her book, Bird by Bird, writing is “revolutionary patience.” I believe revolutionary patience doesn’t just apply to writing. I believe life works the same way. “Hope begins in the dark, the stubborn hope that if you just show up and try to do the right thing, the dawn will come. You wait and watch and work: you don’t give up.” (Anne Lamott)

12 years of not giving up on an idea that started in my head finally became a novel.

 

Leave a Reply

